Leadership 2017  

Record number of Recipients named at the 2017 North West LHIN Leadership Award!


North West LHIN Leadership Award presented to St. Joseph’s Care Group Regional Palliative Care Program, Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC) Regional Orthopedic Program, TBRHSC Regional Critical Care Response Program and Dryden Regional Health Centre CEO Wade Petranik 

Thunder Bay, December 11, 2017
 - The North West Local Health Integration Network’s (LHIN) Board of Directors presented the North West LHIN Leadership Award on Monday, to acknowledge outstanding contributions in transformation, partnerships and leadership excellence in service to the people of Northwestern Ontario. 2017 marks the third annual presentation of the Leadership Award.

Earlier this year, North West LHIN-funded health service providers were invited to nominate individuals, teams, and organizations from across the region for the Leadership Award, which is presented at the annual Open House event. This year, the Board received a record number of exceptionally strong applicants.

Gil Labine 

Gil Labine, Board Chair of the North West LHIN, was on hand to announce this year’s recipients in the categories of Collaboration/Partnership, Stakeholder Engagement and Distinguished Contribution: 

Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre, Regional Orthopaedic Program was nominated for their exceptional approach to collaboration/partnership. The award recognizes the program’s innovative model of health care delivery achieved through Regional Integration and Advanced Technology. At the heart of the Regional Orthopaedic Program is a digital health system, PROMIS (Procedure Management Information System), which was designed specifically to introduce a centralized referral and booking system that connects primary care providers and other referrers with the Regional Orthopaedic Program through one point of access.



Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre, Regional Critical Care Response Program (RCCR) was also nominated for their exceptional approach to collaboration/partnership. The program provides real time access to current, evidence based critical care services using an inter-professional care team approach via telemedicine. Using telemedicine, the program supports 12 rural hospitals and 4 nursing stations by enabling specific patients to be maintained within their communities. The Program is also a 2016 Minister’s Medal Honour Roll recipient, awarded by the Minister of Health and Long-Term Care to honour excellence in health quality and safety.


St. Joseph’s Care Group, North West Regional Palliative Care Program was nominated for their exceptional approach to stakeholder engagement. Since 2015, the Regional Palliative Care Program (RPCP) has been implementing a Regional Palliative Care Plan with the goal of creating an integrated system of palliative care. RPCP’s work resulted in: the identification of local champions to lead community palliative care programs and teams in each sub-LHIN region; the signing of formal partnership agreements with community palliative care teams in 9 Local Health Hubs across the region; and, the establishment of a community of practice for local palliative care champions. The RPCP has prioritized engagement with First Nations communities and the organizations who support them in delivering care to their members. 



Wade Petranik, CEO of Dryden Regional Health Centre was nominated for the Distinguished Contribution Award. This Award is given to an individual who has made significant contributions to advancing the health care system in Northwestern Ontario. Wade has demonstrated exceptional leadership and commitment to the health system over the past 20 years. He was instrumental in the establishment of a Family Health Team under the Governance of the Dryden Regional Health Centre. He was able to bring community, corporate and health governance leaders together as a community health care committee that facilitated the purchase of the medical clinic building, thereby lowering overhead for practicing physicians and enabling the recruitment of new physicians to the community of Dryden. He established a physician recruiter position within the hospital, ensuring the continued availability of medical practitioners. These, among many other honourable achievements, make Wade Petranik the Leadership Award winner for Distinguished Contribution.

Wade Petranik

For the first time, the North West is pleased to acknowledge two honourable mention nominees for their commendable leadership efforts in the areas of Collaboration/Partnership and Stakeholder Engagement:

Alpha Court’s Access Point North West was nominated for their commendable approach to Collaboration/Partnership. Access Point Northwest offers a simplified, online outpatient referral process, replacing an existing paper-based system of referral and ensuring entry into service is accessible, timely and equitable. 

North of Superior Healthcare Group, the Township of Marathon & the Project Team’s Senior Supportive Housing Project was nominated for both their commendable approach to Collaboration/Partnership, as well as their commendable approach to Stakeholder Engagement. The Senior’s Supportive Housing Project Team consists of a diverse membership from the community which has allowed for collaboration among stakeholder to address gaps in senior housing in Marathon. The Project Team has successfully forged partnerships, led several community and stakeholder engagement meeting, secured donations for funding, and begun ground breaking a new Housing Unit facility.  

View the North West LHIN Leadership Award Finalist Profiles for 2017

Quick Facts:

  • The North West LHIN Leadership Award was introduced in 2015 by the North West LHIN Board of Directors as part of the organization’s 10th Anniversary celebrations, commemorating a decade of partnerships in service to the people of Northwestern Ontario.
  • The Leadership Award is presented to a LHIN-funded individual, team, or organization for demonstrating leadership and contributions to health system transformation in Northwestern Ontario including collaborating with others to improve the health outcomes.
  • The Leadership Award accepts nominations in the following categories:
    • Exceptional/Commendable Approach to Collaboration/Partnership
    • Exceptional/Commendable Stakeholder Engagement
    • Exceptional/Commendable Practice in Diversity
    • Exceptional/Commendable Practice in Value Creation
    • Distinguished Contribution Award


Media Contacts

Hugh Mullally
Manager, Communications, Engagement and Stakeholder Relations
807-684-9425, extension 2013
Toll free 1-866-907-5446 extension 2013

Nuala McKee
Communications and Community Engagement Lead
807-684-9425, extension 2024
Toll free 1-866-907-5446 extension 2024